Criminal District Attorney - Staff

A Criminal District Attorney is a statutorily created office that is legally bound to not only handle all criminal matters for the designated county but also all civil matters related to representation of the county, county officials, and all associated matters. The Texas Constitution provides for the office of County Attorney in each county.

However, the legislature may abolish the office of County Attorney by establishing a Criminal District Attorney for such a county. This legislative change took place in Comal County in 1997. Prior to this, Comal County had a County Attorney and a District Attorney.

The statutory duties of a Criminal District Attorney include the following:

  • Represent the State of Texas and victims of crimes in all criminal cases in the District Courts, County Courts-at-Law, and Justice Courts and in appeals therefrom.
  • Represent the best interests of our children in Child Protective Services cases.
  • Represent the victims of domestic abuse by obtaining protective orders against abusive family members.
  • Represent the State of Texas and victims of crimes in ensuring that justice is rendered for juveniles accused of criminal offenses.
  • Provide County Officials with written opinions or advice relating to the official duties of that official.



Criminal District Attorney's Office

Criminal District Attorney: Jennifer Tharp

Chief Civil Prosecutor: Jessica Frazier

Chief Felony Prosecutor: Sammy McCrary

Chief Misdemeanor Prosecutor: Jennifer Barry

Chief Investigator: Mark Mault

Executive Office Manager: Charlotte Popp


Assistant District Attorneys:

Erin Barry
Ashley Burnside
Lauren Cole
Daniel Floyd
Tiffany Hartman
Jennifer Howze
Henna Le Vasseur
Justin Plescha
Joshua Presley
Tillman Roots
Pawandeep Singh
Courtney Stump
Kaitlyn Traeger
Sarah Van Sciver
Majel Wallen
Holly Weatherford



Martin Bautizta
Amber Hardcastle


Support Staff:

Juliana Martinez - Civil Office Manager
Ida Paniagua – Misdemeanor Office Manager
Denise Aguilar
Elva Brenner
Kara Calix
Jennifer Funkhouser
Justine Hansmann
Sarah Henrie
Michaela Herevia
Shelby Lehmann
Dana Leopold
Sara Martin
Jamie Mueller
Dalia Ortiz
Beth Patton
Melissa Pelata
Shannon Reyes
Kelly Suiter
Kyra Wasim
Adriana Urrutia

Comal County Criminal District Attorney