Emmie Seele Faust Memorial Library
The Emmie Seele Faust Memorial Library Building, located at the corner of Coll Streetand Magazine Avenue, served as the New Braunfels, Comal County, Texas, public library from 1938 until 1969. The New Braunfels Library Association was founded in 1928 to meet the needto better educate the growing community. For ten years, the Association operated a public library at various locations around the downtown area.
In 1937, Emmie Seele Faust spearheadeda combined effort between the City of New Braunfels, the Sophienburg Museum Association and the New Braunfels Library Association to give the public library a permanent home. The native rock building was designed by architect, Jeremiah Schmidt and opened in 1938.
When the Dittlinger Memorial Library was built in 1967 on the back of the property where the water well is noted, the Emmie Seele Faust Library building ceased to be the public library taking on a new use by housing the archive and artifact collections of the Sophienburg Museum.
When a new library was built in 1999, the Dittlinger Memorial Library facilities became part of the Sophienburg Museum and Archives. In 2010, the Emmie Seele Faust Memorial Library building was restored and repurposed as a meeting hall and classroom. The building stands as a tribute to Emmie Seele Faust and the designer, Jeremiah Schmidt.