Deferred Disposition Request JP3

Note - any pre-disposition (no conviction entered) cases in which the defendant is less than 21 years old and involves an offense under Texas Penal Code or Texas Alcohol & Beverage Code must appear in open court, unless otherwise specified by the Judge.

Exceptions:
  • If you are charged with speeding greater than 25mph over the limit, you must request, in writing or in person, to speak to the prosecutor if a deferral is sought. You will be set for a future court date.
  • If you are a CDL holder or had a CDL at the time of the violation and if the violation involved the movement of a vehicle, you are not eligible for a deferral.
  • There are certain violations that are not eligible for deferral: passing a school bus, any moving violation that occurs in a work zone with workers present, failing to obey a school crossing guard, and leaving the scene of an accident. This is not a complete list of prohibited violations. If you have a question regarding your eligibility for deferral please contact the court at 830-626-4888
Moving Violations

The deferral period is for 120 days during which you must:

  • Pay the court costs at the time of the request, the deferred disposition fine is due by the end of the deferral period; and
  • Not be convicted of any offenses of a similar nature within Comal County.
  • Additional conditions (as applicable): If you were less than 25 years old at the time of the violation, you must complete a driving safety course and submit the original court copy of the certificate of completion. If you hold a provisional DL, you are required to present proof that you were reexamined by DPS.
Non-Moving Violations

The deferral period is for 120 days during which you must:

  • Pay the court costs at the time of the request, the deferred disposition fine is due by the end of the deferral period; and
  • Not be convicted of any offenses of a similar nature within Comal County.
Driving While License Invalid, No DL, & Expired DL

The deferral period is for 120 days during which you must:

  • Pay the court costs at the time of the request, the deferred disposition fine is due by the end of the deferral period; and
  • Submit proof of a valid driver’s or occupational license; and
  • Not be convicted of any offenses of a similar nature within Comal County.
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility

The deferral period is for 120 days during which you must:

  • At the time of request, you must submit proof of valid insurance listing your name as a driver on the policy;
  • Pay the court costs at the time of the request, the deferred disposition fine is due by the end of the deferral period;
  • Maintain valid insurance (to be verified at end of deferral period); and
  • Not be convicted of any offenses of a similar nature within Comal County.

Online Form for Deferred Disposition

Justice of the Peace Portal