Comal County Treasurer

The office of county treasurer was one of the foundational offices first created by the Texas Constitution in 1846, with its description being the Chief Custodian of Money Management. It is an important office for checks and balances of the millions of dollars of taxpayers monies that pass through county government.


The office of County Treasurer was established by the Texas Constitution in 1846. Elected by voters, the Treasurer serves for four years. The County Treasurer is chief custodian of county finance, receiving all monies belonging to the county. As fiscal officer, the Treasurer invests all funds available in accordance with the Commissioners Court.

The County Treasurer is responsible for:

  • Receiving and accounting for all county monies
  • Applying and disbursing monies as directed by the Commissioners
  • Serving as liaison between the county and the depository bank
  • Reconciling all bank statements
  • Making monthly financial reports to the Commissioners.

Renee L. Couch



Mary Ayala is the Cash Management Administrator





Cecily Chappell is the Payroll Administrator

Elected Officials in Comal County